The South King County Music Teachers Association (SKCMTA) is dedicated to sharing the joy of music with each student and with the regional community.

Through rigorous and innovative educational programs and activities, the teacher members of SKCMTA uphold artistic and ethical standards of excellence in their music teaching; encourage the study and performance of music at all levels; provide music instruction for all ages; stimulate public interest in and patronage of music; and foster in society a lifelong commitment to the art of music.

SKCMTA is a local chapter of WSMTA which is affiliated with MTNA.

2020-2021 Officers

President: Deanna Dent
Vice President: Julie Swienty, NCTM
Treasurer: Heather White
Secretary: Jan Irvine, NCTM


For the latest program and committee updates, please see the Concento Newsletter.

Adjudicator Selection Committee: By Invitation
Archives: William Chapman Nyaho, NCTM
Chapter Honors Competition: Julie Swienty, NCTM
Certification: Karen Hollenback, NCTM
Fine Arts and Music Artistry Program Recitals: Samantha Yeung
Hospitality: Dianne Nichols
Membership: Mary Kaye Owen, NCTM
Music Artistry Program (Piano): Julie Swienty, NCTM
Music Artistry Program (Voice): Darcie Fulkerson
Music Literacy Program (MLP): Dr. Steve Nehrenberg
Music Festivals: Mary Kaye Owen, NCTM
Newsletter (Concento): Jan Irvine
Publicity: OPEN
Scholarship: Heather Forbes
Student Recitals: Sviatlana Riedel
Sunshine: Sally Ramsden, NCTM
Teacher to Teacher Mentoring: Karen Hollenback, NCTM
Technology/ Website: Samantha Yeung
Yearbook: Elena Aleksandrova
Young/Junior Artist Master Series (YAMS/JAMS): Julie Swienty, NCTM
Young Composers Project: Dr. Steve Nehrenberg